## **TORCON 3** • The 61st World Science Fiction Convention

August 28 to September 1, 2003 • Metro Toronto Convention Centre

# The 2003 Hugo Award Nominations

#### Nominations for the Best Novel Category

(621 people submitted nominations for 219 novels)
Bones of the Earth by Michael Swanwick (Eos)
Hominids by Robert J. Sawyer (*Analog* 1-4/02; Tor)
Kiln People by David Brin (Tor)
The Scar by China Miéville (Macmillan; Del Rey)
The Years of Rice and Salt by Kim Stanley Robinson (Bantam)

#### Nominations for the Best Novella Category

(374 people submitted nominations for 65 novellas. Six nominees due to a fifth place tie) **A Year in the Linear City** by Paul Di Filippo (PS Publishing) "**Breathmoss**" by Ian R. MacLeod (*Asimov's* 5/02) "**Bronte's Egg**" by Richard Chwedyk (*F&SF* 8/02) **Coraline** by Neil Gaiman (HarperCollins) "**In Spirit**" by Pat Forde (*Analog* 9/02) "**The Political Officer**" by Charles Coleman Finlay (*F&SF* 4/02)

#### Nominations for the Best Novelette Category

(377 people submitted nominations for 148 novelettes)
"Halo" by Charles Stross (Asimov's 6/02)
"Madonna of the Maquiladora" by Gregory Frost (Asimov's 5/02)
"Presence" by Maureen F. McHugh (F&SF 3/02)
"Slow Life" by Michael Swanwick (Analog 12/02)
"The Wild Girls" by Ursula K. Le Guin (Asimov's 3/02)

### Nominations for the Best Short Story Category

(400 people submitted nominations for 262 short stories)
"Creation" by Jeffrey Ford (F&SF 5/02)
"Falling Onto Mars" by Geoffrey A. Landis (Analog 7-8/02)
"Hello,' Said the Stick" by Michael Swanwick (Analog 3/02)
"Lambing Season" by Molly Gloss (Asimov's 7/02)
"The Little Cat Laughed to See Such Sport" by Michael Swanwick (Asimov's 10-11/02)

#### Nominations for the Best Related Book Category

(262 people submitted nomination for 83 related books)
The Battle of the Sexes in Science Fiction, Justine Larbalestier (Wesleyan University Press)
Better to Have Loved: The Life of Judith Merril, Judith Merril and Emily Pohl-Weary (Between the Lines)
Dragonhenge, Bob Eggleton and John Grant (Paper Tiger)
Bradbury: An Illustrated Life, Jerry Weist (Morrow)
Spectrum 9: The Best in Contemporary Fantastic Art, Cathy Fenner and Arnie Fenner, eds. (Underwood Books)

#### Nominations for the Best Dramatic Presentation, Short Form Category

(284 people submitted nominations for 176 short form dramatic presentations)
Star Trek: Enterprise, "A Night in Sickbay" (Paramount Television)
Directed by David Straiton; Teleplay by Rick Berman & Brannon Braga
Star Trek: Enterprise, "Carbon Creek" (Paramount Television)
Directed by James Contner; Story by Rick Berman & Brannon Braga and Dan O'Shannon; Teleplay by Chris Black
Buffy the Vampire Slayer, "Conversations With Dead People" (20th Century Fox Television/Mutant Enemy Inc.)
Directed by Nick Marck; Teleplay by Jane Espenson & Drew Goddard
Firefly, "Serenity" (20th Century Fox Television/Mutant Enemy Inc.)
Directed by Joss Whedon; Teleplay by Joss Whedon
Angel, "Waiting in the Wings" (20th Century Fox Television/Mutant Enemy Inc.)
Directed by Joss Whedon; Teleplay by Joss Whedon

Nominations for the Best Dramatic Presentation, Long Form Category	
(529 people submitted nominations for 59 long form dramatic presentations)	
Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets (Warner Bros.)	
Directed by Chris Columbus; Screenplay by Steve Kloves; based on the novel by J. K. Rowling	
The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers (New Line Cinema)	
Directed by Peter Jackson; Screenplay by Fran Walsh, Phillippa Boyens, Stephen Sinclair & Peter Jackson; based	
on the novel by J. R. R. Tolkien	
Minority Report (20th Century Fox & DreamWorks SKG)	
Directed by Steven Spielberg; Screenplay by Scott Frank and Jon Cohen; based on the story by Philip K. Dick	
Spider-Man (Columbia Pictures)	
Directed by Sam Raimi; Screenplay by David Koepp;	based on the comic book character created by Steve Ditko
and Stan Lee	
Spirited Away (Studio Ghibli & Walt Disney Pictures)	
Directed by Hayao Miyazaki; Screenplay by Hayao Miyazaki (English version by Cindy Davis Hewitt and	
Donald H. Hewitt)	
Nominations for the Best Professional Editor Category	Nominations for the Best Fan Artist Category
(399 nominations for 89 professional editors)	(243 nominations for 76 fan artists)
Ellen Datlow	Brad W. Foster
Gardner Dozois	Teddy Harvia
David G. Hartwell	Sue Mason
Stanley Schmidt	Steve Stiles
Gordon Van Gelder	Frank Wu
Nominations for the Best Professional Artist Category	Nominations for the John W. Campbell Award
(344 nominations for 141 professional artists)	for Best New Writer
Jim Burns	(not a Hugo Award — sponsored by Dell Magazines)
David A. Cherry	(259 nominations for 93 new writers)
Bob Eggleton	<b>Charles Coleman Finlay</b> (second year of eligibility)
Frank Kelly Freas	David D. Levine (first year of eligibility)
Donato Giancola	Karin Lowachee (first year of eligibility)
Nominations for the Dest Cominnering Category	Wen Spencer (second year of eligibility)
Nominations for the Best Semiprozine Category	Ken Wharton (second year of eligibility)
(314 nominations for 47 semiprozines) <i>Ansible</i> edited by Dave Langford	
<i>Interzone</i> edited by David Pringle	761 nomination forms were received from Torcon 3 and ConJosé
<i>Locus</i> edited by Charles N. Brown, Jennifer A. Hall,	members. 738 nomination forms were valid. Jeffrey Copeland
and Kirsten Gong-Wong	provided the software used to tally the nominations.
The New York Review of Science Fiction edited by	Ted Chiang respectfully declined his nomination for the Best Nov-
Kathryn Cramer, David G. Hartwell & Kevin Maroney	elette category. One short story nominee was replaced since it had
Speculations edited by Kent Brewster	been previously published in 2000. This is David D. Levine's first
- ·	year of eligibility for the John W. Campbell Award. Your Hugo Administrator thanks everyone who took the time to inform him
Nominations for the Best Fanzine Category	about errors in the original nominee list.
(289 nominations for 93 fanzines)	C
Challenger edited by Guy H. Lillian III	A list of the top fifteen nominees in each category (with the num- ber of nominations received) will be released after the Torcon 3
Emerald City edited by Cheryl Morgan	Hugo Awards Ceremony on Saturday, August 30, 2003.
<i>File 770</i> edited by Mike Glyer	
Mimosa edited by Rich and Nicki Lynch	The final ballot will be enclosed in Torcon's Progress Report Five,
<i>Plokta</i> Alison Scott, Steve Davies & Mike Scott, eds.	to be mailed out in May. It will be also available on the Torcon 3 web site. You must be a Torcon 3 supporting or attending member
Nominations for the Best Fan Writer Category	to be eligible to vote. The voting deadline is July 31, 2003.
(315 nominations for 144 fan writers)	
Bob Devney	Questions or comments may be sent to the Torcon 3 Hugo Awards
John L. Flynn	postal address (PO Box 3252, Merrifield, VA 22116-3252 USA) or HugoAdmin@torcon3.on.ca. (Ver. 3, 21-April-03)
Mike Glyer	-
Dave Langford	TORCON 3
Steven H Silver	PO Box 3, Station A, Toronto, Ontario, M5W 1A2, Canada info@torcon3.on.ca • www.torcon3.on.ca